Yamalapalli Completes Women’s Tennis Player, Student-Athlete of the Year Sweep

first_imgFirst Team Second Team The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 13 member schools, votes for the student-athlete of the year. The Southland student-athlete of the year award is presented to one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees must have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution. Charoline Erlandsson Sr. McNeese Stockholm, Sweden Management 3.72 Judit Castillo Gargallo*2 Jr. Northwestern State Teruel, Spain Heath & Exercise Science 3.93 Student-Athlete of the Year: Sahaja Yamalapalli, Sam Houston State Her Bearkat teammate Lusine Chobanyan was also an automatic selection on the first team, along with fellow first-team all-conference honorees Emilija Dancetovic and Judit Castillo Gargallo of Northwestern State. Gargallo and Central Arkansas’ Marli van Heerden are the only repeat all-academic picks, and Abilene Christian’s Illeana Mocciola rounded out the first team. Northwestern State led the way with three all-academic selections as Ela Iwaniuk was voted to the second team, joined by Southeastern Louisiana’s Katya Cornejo, New Orleans’ Trang Dao, McNeese’s Charoline Erlandsson, Abilene Christian’s Jordan Henry and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Maria Maldonado. Cornejo. Lusine Chobanyan* Jr. Sam Houston State Yerevan, Armenia Accounting 3.82 2019 Southland Women’s Tennis All-Academic Teams Name Class School Hometown Major GPA The average GPA of the all-academic squads is 3.84 with three individuals boasting a perfect 4.0 figure: Yamalapalli, Cornejo, an engineering technology major, and Maria Maldonado, a finance major. Ela Iwaniuk Jr. Northwestern State Konarskie, Poland Physical Sciences 3.53 The 2019 Southland Conference Player of the Year backed up her on-court success off the court with a perfect 4.00 GPA in food science and nutrition. The President’s List member garnered the top athletic accolade and first-team all-conference honors with a 10-1 record at No. 1 singles in league play.center_img The All-Academic teams are voted on by the head coach, sports information director and an academic/compliance staff member from each Southland Conference institution. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s competition to qualify for All-Academic selection. Nominees who were named to the All-Conference First Team are automatically named Southland All-Academic. Trang Dao Sr. New Orleans Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam Exercise Physiology 3.70 FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State’s Sahaja Yamalapalli is the 2019 Women’s Tennis Student-Athlete of the Year, the league announced Monday with its all-academic teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. ^Student-Athlete of the Year*-Automatic Selection2-Two-Time All-Academic Selection Name Class School Hometown Major GPA Katya Cornejo So. Southeastern Louisiana Aguascalientes, Mexico Engineering Technology 4.00 Emilija Dancetovic* Jr. Northwestern State Belgrade, Serbia Business Administration 3.80 Sahaja Yamalapalli^* So. Sam Houston State Hyderabad, India Food Science & Nutrition 4.00 Jordan Henry Sr. Abilene Christian Oklahoma City, Okla. Communication Disorders 4.00 Illeana Mocciola* So. Abilene Christian Rio Negro, Argentina Management 3.81 Maria Maldonado Jr. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi El Ejido, Spain Finance 4.00 Marli Van Heerden*2 Sr. Central Arkansas George, South Africa Accounting 3.79last_img read more